Oakhurst, Ca & Local Natives

from-lumberjackblog

Visiting Oakhurst, Ca

Local Natives: Gorilla Manor Pitchfork Review

After my Yosemite trip, I took a visit to see some of my friends who we worked at a summer camp together in Oakhurst, Ca called Calvin Crest. Some of them still work there year long to be apart of their Outdoor Education program and some lived in Fresno where we met up for coffee and to do some hiking around the camp. I owe a lot of my music discovery to these people. Being up in the mountains all year long you feel so inspired to find new music and to even create your own. These people are so creative and I am inspired by them everyday. I even go to bring my boyfriend along for a couple of hikes in Calvin Crest.

One band I owe to my friends for finding in Local Natives. This band is incredible and use multiple instruments with incredible tone in their voices and harmonies as well. They have three albums now that are all breathtaking. But one in particular is my favorite and that is Gorilla Manor which I turned on for the drive up to Calvin Crest.

gorilla-manor1

Calvin Crest sits on a huge mountain in the foothills of Oakhurst, about 15 miles away from Yosemite National Park. The combination of working so close to Yosemite National Park and my love for music is something that I owe to who I am today. Without these two parts in my life, I wouldn’t be the same person. There were times were I felt so alone on top of that mountain pondering life and who I want to be when I grow up. But working at that summer camp helps you slow down to stop stressing. You’ll be who you are meant to be in no time, so there’s no need to stress it and whenever I come visit I feel that sense of admiration for my life all over again. This was the first time I visited all year and I was so happy to see that nothing has really changed.

As I took the drive up from the little small town of Oakhurst into the foothills, Local Natives was screaming from my speakers with all windows down, feeling like summer all over again.

Sun Hands helps me relive so many memories. Falling in love, laughing until my ribs hurts and couldn’t breathe, long mornings working in the kitchen getting ready for the day ahead, physical labor outside building a 90ft water slide out of metal and elbow grease, I felt all this come back to me. I have been told many times that I am a very nostalgic person, I wouldn’t even take that back. The memories and times I’ve had living them have made me the person I am today. So whenever I put Gorilla Manor on I thank every inch of my body for the stories I can tell about my life to friends and family.

Sun Hands, Wide Eyes, Camera Talk, and Who Knows Who Cares are just some of the most important songs to me. Local Natives are known for their tight harmonies, crescendos, strings like violin and cello that come out so beautiful and all four of these songs.

Writing this blog has forced me to look back on my life and think about the good times with nature and music. These two parts of the world have been incredibly important to me and I couldn’t imagine a life without either of them. To be able to combine them with the beauty of hiking and ballads, I have realized that I know what I love and that I never want to change that.

“Memory tells me that these times are worth working for.”
-Camera Talk, Local Natives

img_1569

img_2206img_4741img_4827Processed with VSCOcam with s3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

Leave a Reply

