Mirror Lake & James Blake

im-saved-by-nature-but-it-always-forgets-what-i-need

Visiting Mirror Lake

James Blake: The Colour in Anything Pitchfork Review

I spent the weekend in Yosemite National Park at one of the least busiest times of the year, September. Yes, there was still a massive amount of people, but Yosemite gets about a million visitors a year- wow.

As I set off for my weekend, I think of the places I would like to visit. First of course, was Mirror Lake. One of the most iconic places in the valley. Mirror Lake is famous for its still waters where the reflection of granite sharped facing mountains plunge into the water for one of the most beautiful panoramic photos you can get ever take in your lifetime.

There’s no other album to explain Mirror Lake’s beauty as James Blake’s newest album, The Colour in Anything. Like Jose Gonzalez’s Vestiges & Claws, it was hard to get used to a new album from a favorite artist of mine. This album, was a perfect example of that. It took me awhile to fall in love with this album because it sometimes left with me with anxiety with his repetitiveness of the beginning of the album with sirens, loud noises and timed beats. Sometimes when I’m too stressed, I skip these certain tracks. But if I’m happy or in an upbeat mood the beginning of this album has a lot of color and depth.

c8bc624ea7d430d81b33faec31b21bf7-640x640x1

“I’m saved by nature
But it always forgets what I need
I hope you’ll stop me before I build a wall around me
We need a forest fire
We need a forest fire
We need a forest fire
We need a forest fire”
-James Blake, I Need a Forest Fire

Something I didn’t know about this verse is how in depth he really meant. Genius.com puts more of this lyric into perspective better than I can:

Blake compares the natural tendency to fall into habits in a relationship to nature itself, in that both appear and grow automatically. But nature can be harsh and unpredictable, and even sweep away your expectations. The same applies to a relationship—becoming too engrained in habits can sap satisfaction or create feelings of neglect.

As a result, the “wall” Blake mentions is an emotional one. He calls for a “forest fire” to purge the relationship and start fresh by figuratively burning down the barriers between them. (Genius)

Three of my favorite songs on this album are I Need a Forest Fire, f.o.r.e.v.e.r., and Put That Away and Talk to Me. These songs are so classic to his sound and more of ballads than other songs on this album. Overall, this is a fantastic piece of his and I cannot stop loving his music no matter what.

img_4488

img_4498img_4499img_4519img_9615

Leave a Reply

